How to Make the Most of Insomnia

Good morning everyone! I’ve been up since 4:45 a.m. and I’m not even a farmer. Here’s the thing, I go to bed, sleep a while and then BOING I’m up. It’s usually because I have to use the bathroom but there’s never any sense going back to sleep at 5 am if my alarm is just going to go off an hour later.

As you all know by now, I’m writing a book.  Even though I’ve written a fair bit my whole life, I’ve never committed to writing anything this intense and volumnous. When I was younger, I had a child to raise and he took up most of my time. As he got older, I had other things going on in my life and still didn’t think I had the time to write. Years went by and I kept coming up with excuses not to write.

Now, here I am, smack in the middle of perimenopause with the dreaded symptom: insomnia. Insomnia! How could I possible come up with an excuse not to write now?  All these extra hours not sleeping are now spent writing. Pounding words out from the keyboard to the screen. I’m not saying the words are all strung together nicely or poetically, but there they are. The first step to writing is just getting the words out.  Editing will come later.

So, I used to be afraid of insomnia (don’t know why – any therapist feel free to chime in).  Now I’m embracing it (sort of).  There are times when I’m so bone tired and brain dead the best I can write is something like (and..blah blah blah so there he was blah blah blah never then….you get the point).

As some of you may know, I’ve been taking prescription sleeping pills for about 18 years and they are WONDERFUL. I take 1/2, go to sleep soundly, and wake up refreshed. The problem now is that they don’t keep me asleep. If you happen to drive by my house early in the morning you’ll probably see a dim light and a lone figure slumped over a desk typing away. Uh, first of all…why the hell are you driving by my house at 4 in the morning?…..secondly, don’t knock on my door because I’m writing.

Welp, time to get ready for work! Have a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

