WHY THE TREADMILL -Sometimes – IS BETTER THAN OUTDOORS #runchat #runatcan

There are perfectly good days when I could run outside, but I choose to relegate myself to the basement to pound out some km’s on my sturdy treadmill.  Why?  Anxiety with a touch of Agoraphobia.  That’s my definition.  Sometimes I don’t like to travel far from my house on foot.  It’s hard to explain but it’s like being surrounded with a presence whispering, “This won’t turn out well.  Something bad could happen.”

What would you do?  It’s an awfully hard thing to fight against. So, I’ve learned that on those high-anxiety days it’s safer for my mental health to hit the treadmill.   Okay…you armchair psychologists might think it’s better to face the anxiety head on.  And sometimes I do. But there has to be a safety net before I’ll do that.

A) Mike, my spouse, has to be home with his cellphone turned on.

B) I might need a sliver of Ativan to take the edge off.

C) The sun has to be high in the sky, not starting to set.  That’s a whole different anxiety that I’m not getting into right now.

D) I tell Mike exactly where I’m going and sometimes remind him how to track my phone in case I’m kidnapped.

E) Sometimes I’ll bring my pitbull mix, Coco, for protection.

F) I bring change in case.  I don’t know why.

G) I stuff a snack in my hydration belt.

Exhausting right??

I could just NOT run, but the anxiety of not exercising is even worse.  So, today I went out with Coco for 5k.  Now I’m going to do the rest of the run on the treadmill.
PS:   Ahhhhhhh.  The 0.5mg of Ativan is kicking in.    Still not enough to make me want to venture out.

Thank you Hannah for selling it to me.

TELL ME YOUR RUNNING PREFERENCES IN THE COMMENT SECTION!

 

Leave a Reply

