Let These 3 Things Come to You

I buy tea at the Bulk Barn called “Yogi Calming” which is good for unwinding at the end of the day.  image

Every night, I open one of the individually packed tea bags and read the saying that comes with each one. For example, “Let your manners speak for you”, or “Where there is love, there is no question”.   Frankly, I don’t get the second one but that’s beside the point.

Last night I opened one that said, “Let Things Come to You”, and I thought, Yeah! I totally get that.  Why?  Because I’ve always been too impatient to do that and it has defined my life – not always for the better.  So, for what it’s worth, here are my 3 ideas/reasons to let life come to you.

  1. Relationships 

When I was young, I always had to have a boyfriend. Any boyfriend.  It was as simple              as picking someone  and imposing my own ideals on him.  Instead of learning more             about myself and being okay without a side-kick, I forced relationships.

“Do y0u want to go out with me?”

“Yup, sure you do!”

“We should get married. You’re gonna marry me!”

There’re two marriages down the tube…..

2. Stuff

I used to spend a ton of money on useless things.   As soon as I saw something I  wanted, I had to buy it.  Okay, full disclosh:  The only reason I don’t do that now is because I’m  paying for my son’s college tuition.

BUT…I’m discovering that I actually already have everything I need and I don’t have to rush into buying MORE stuff.  I can wait.

   3.  Friends

The older I get, the less patience I have for people (including myself!).  Although I’ve            never been one to force friendships, I still think it’s worth mentioning. It occurred to            me recently that it’s better to have no friends than bad friends.  I’m hoping that I                  came up with that quote and that it wasn’t sitting in the recessess of my mind from some     other author.

Friends who do nothing to contribute to the relationship are not friends.  Let ’em go.            Quality friends will come into my life when they’re meant to.

Maybe none of this applies to you, but I sometimes wonder where I’d be now if I’d had        the ability to let things fall into place organically.  Guess I’ll never know.  Life is very good   right now.  And that’s the important thing.

Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

